Books

Short Impressions of “JPod” by Douglas Coupland

I don’t know if Douglas Coupland changed my life. If not, he came close.

Douglas Coupland is the author of Microserfs, a fictional tale of life at Microsoft in the mid-1990s. I had to have read Microserfs before December 1998, because according to my Amazon’s history that’s when I read Coupland’s Girlfriend in a Coma. I read Microserfs, and wanted to be with those people, to know those friends, to live that life.

Now I work there.

JPod is an update that takes place a decade later and two hours to the north, in Vancouver, British Columbia. JPod is not a copy of Microserfs, but the books definitely ‘rhyme.’ JPod also takes place in the world after the 9/11 attacks, which are never directly mentioned, but appear to lurk behind the surface. Microserfs was a work of techno-optimism, and ends with the what might be the most moving description of transhumanism I ever read. The world of JPod is subtly darker and more violent.

We no longer live in a world where the young do not have a war to support, oppose, and think about. They now have too many.

But JPod’s tone is funny, the antics more absurd than in Microserfs, and follows a stream-of-consciousness style. There’s plenty of geek humor too — if a technical manual that identifies .cpp (C++) files as “containing information about films that won an Academy Award” is hilarious, this may be the book for you.

JPod is recommended for fans of Douglas Coupland and Microserfs.

Similar Posts

One thought on “Short Impressions of “JPod” by Douglas Coupland
  1. one of the most treasured books in my personal library is a Greek translation of MICROSERFS. I got it as a thank you from the translator, who stumbled into me online and asked me for help with geek vocabulary. FredZ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *